so i finally watched… fleabag the play

This week, I went to see a recorded version of Phoebe Waller-Bridge performing her play, ‘Fleabag’, at the Wyndham’s Theatre in London at Curzon Soho as a part of the NT Live scheme. ‘Fleabag’ is a one-woman show that follows a young, quite self-obsessed, binge-drinking woman who is grieving her mother and best friend and trying to run a guinea pig-themed cafe. Six years after its first run, Waller-Bridge is finally bringing her stage show to a climax. Here are my thoughts on the play, the TV show that followed it and Waller-Bridge’s monumental success.

When I watched the first season of Fleabag on BBC iPlayer, I thought it was witty, daring and original. Waller-Bridge’s ability to constantly switch from comic hilarity to such dark, upsetting scenes blew me away. Yet, I have to admit that it was only when the second series aired, Andrew Scott entered the picture, Olivia Colman stepped into the spotlight and Kristin Scott Thomas had a cameo that I became fully captivated by the show. For me, this was its peak. In the second series, Fleabag’s episodes become far more plot-driven, diverting from how the first season developed like a sequence of sketches, and allowed me to become more engaged in the crazy lives of the characters. It seemed the whole world was tuning into BBC to catch up with the wild, outrageous world that Waller-Bridge had masterminded. Fleabag is undoubtedly now a cultural phenomenon. At school, we were even discussing the show in classes and constantly asking ‘What will happen next?’, analysing certain scenes with teachers before we started our actual classwork. Everyone I knew was obsessed. Waller-Bridge was the woman of the moment.

But what made Fleabag so important to so many people? I have been thinking about this a lot. The success of the show has been unprecedented. People just can’t get enough of it. But why? Personally, it is simply because the character that Waller-Bridge has fabricated is so raw, straight-talking and honest that people can’t help but admire her guts. She is rude and cruel. Half the time, she seems to be saying what everyone is thinking but is too afraid to admit. She is brutal and fearless. Yet, simultaneously, the character is vulnerable and horribly lonely. People love her because she is flawed and totally human.

I’m not obsessed with sex. I just can’t stop thinking about it.

This is something that became even clearer when watching the play rather than the TV show. With just Waller-Bridge alone on a stool, there was absolutely nothing whatsoever to distract from Fleabag’s constant thoughts, worries and emotions. Waller-Bridge’s facial expressions were so brilliantly overstated and arresting that as an audience member you could actually feel yourself being transported inside Fleabag’s mind. It became physical theatre. There is no doubt that when the story was performed in the theatre, the juxtaposition between the hysterical comedy and the heartbreaking, overwhelming matter of her grief was much more transparent. This meant that I felt the play was far more effective than the TV show in terms of playing with the wavering emotions of the audience. Yet, despite that, I have to admit that there was no huge disparity between the play and the TV show. The content was pretty much the same, following an identical plotline. If you loved the first series of ‘Fleabag’ and decide to go to see the play, you will be watching the same thing all over again pretty much. In fact, this led Kate Wyver to write that ‘the play felt like going to a gallery and looking at the artist’s sketchbooks. The show is just so much more developed, so the play can’t help but feel a little disappointing.’ But, I say don’t let this put you off. I understand that the play is now slightly dated since it hasn’t changed from its original script in 2012 but I think this only puts emphasis on just how successful Waller-Bridge is. The concept of ‘Fleabag’ is so universally applauded that she can honestly just repeat her show again and again and people will go back. I am certainly one of those people. If there was a re-run in the cinema of the play, I would definitely book tickets. I have read the play and seen the TV show so many times that it is embarrassing and can probably quote a number of scenes. Yet, Waller-Bridge is so subtle and sharp that I just can’t get enough of her. I recently read a review in ‘The Times’ in which the journalist said he just didn’t ‘get it’ and gave Waller-Bridge 2 stars for her performance. It is important to acknowledge that a sex-obsessed, angry, sometimes inappropriate female character isn’t for everyone. But, it certainly is for me. Fleabag is fierce and I adore her.

phoebe.png

And yes I met Phoebe and she is absolutely wonderful.

Have you watched Fleabag? Have you seen the play? What did you think? Let me know!

Leave a comment